Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 40
Thursday, May 6, 2021, 3:27 p.m. to 6:02 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Brett Capwell, Analyst
• Michaël Lambert-Racine, Analyst
• Hon. Percy E. Downe, Senator
As an individual
• Janet Watson
• Lucia Iacovelli, Canadian Managing Partner, Tax
Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada
• Debi Daviau, President
• Ryan Campbell, Economist, Technical advisor
Transparency International Canada
• James Cohen, Executive Director
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Tuesday, April 27, 2021, the committee commenced its study of Canada Revenue Agency’s Efforts to Combat Tax Avoidance and Evasion.

Percy E. Downe, Janet Watson, Lucia Iacovelli, Debi Daviau, and James Cohen made statements and, with Ryan Campbell, answered questions.

The committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to committee business.


Peter Julian moved, — That the meeting be extended to continue the questioning of the witnesses until 6:00 p.m.

Debate arose thereon.

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Ted Falk, Ed Fast, Tamara Jansen, Peter Julian, Pat Kelly, Gabriel Ste-Marie — 6;

NAYS: Julie Dzerowicz, Peter Fragiskatos, Sean Fraser, Annie Koutrakis, Michael V. McLeod — 5.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 6:02 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Alexandre Roger
Clerk of the Committee