Skip to main content

CIMM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 34
Monday, June 7, 2021, 3:41 p.m. to 5:40 p.m.
Salma Zahid, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Julie Béchard, Analyst
• Madalina Chesoi, Analyst
• Martin McCallum, Analyst
Justicia for Migrant Workers
• Taneeta Doma
• Chris Ramsaroop, National Organizer
As an individual
• Andrew Griffith, Former Public Servant, Author and Commentator
Century Initiative
• Lisa Lalande, Chief Executive Officer
• Jon Medow, Policy and Research Advisor
Thunder Bay Community Economic Development Commission
• Emily Lauzon, Workforce Development Officer
• Piero Pucci, Supervisor, Economic Development
Rural Municipalities of Alberta
• Paul McLauchlin, President
• Gerald Rhodes, Executive Director
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Wednesday, May 26, 2021, the committee resumed its study of the Economic imperative and long-term importance for small rural municipalities outside of major cities to retain new immigrants.

Paul McLauchlin, Andrew Griffith and Chris Ramsaroop made statements and answered questions.

At 4:36 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:40 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Lisa Lalande, Emily Lauzon and Piero Pucci made statement and, with Jon Medow, answered questions.

At 5:40 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Leif-Erik Aune
Clerk of the Committee