Skip to main content
Start of content

CIMM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 24
Wednesday, April 21, 2021, 3:30 p.m. to 5:33 p.m.
Salma Zahid, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Julie Béchard, Analyst
• Madalina Chesoi, Analyst
• Martin McCallum, Analyst
Olymel L.P.
• Louis Banville, Vice-president, Human Resources
• Isabelle Leblond, Corporate Director, Human Resources
Restaurants Canada
• Olivier Bourbeau, Vice-President, Federal and Quebec
• Lauren van den Berg, Executive Vice-President, Government Relations
Quebec Immigration Lawyers Association
• Krishna Gagné, Lawyer and Vice-President for Economic Affairs
Fédération des chambres de commerce du Québec
• Alexandre Gagnon, Vice-president, Employment and Human Capital
• Charles Milliard, President and Chief Executive Officer
United Food and Commercial Workers Union Canada
• Derek Johnstone, Special Assistant to the National President
Canadian Chamber of Commerce
• Leah Nord, Senior Director, Workforce Strategies and Inclusive Growth
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Monday, February 1, 2021, the committee resumed its study of the Labour Market Impact Assessment under the Temporary Foreign Worker Program.

Derek Johnstone, Charles Milliard and Krishna Gagné made statements and, with Alexandre Gagnon, answered questions.

At 4:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:34 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Louis Banville, Isabelle Leblond, Leah Nord and Lauren van den Berg made statements and, with Olivier Bourbeau, answered questions.

At 5:19 p.m., pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the committee continue to sit.

At 5:33 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Leif-Erik Aune
Clerk of the Committee