Skip to main content
Start of content

CIMM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 22
Monday, April 12, 2021, 3:30 p.m. to 5:33 p.m.
Salma Zahid, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Julie Béchard, Analyst
• Madalina Chesoi, Analyst
• Martin McCallum, Analyst
United Refugee Council Canada
• Jagdeep Singh Batth, Coordinator, Process Improvement
• Shaitan Singh Rajpurohit, Chemical Machine Operator
Canadian Horticultural Council
• Elizabeth Connery, Chair, Labour Committee
Universities Canada
• Paul Davidson, President
• Wendy Therrien, Director, External Relations and Research
Migrant Workers Alliance for Change
• Syed Hussan, Executive Director
The Neighbourhood Organization
• Maria Esel Panlaqui, Manager, Community Development and Special Projects
• Jennifer Rajasekar, Manager, Newcomer Support Services
Food and Beverage Canada
• Kathleen Sullivan, Chief Executive Officer
• Daniel Vielfaure, Co-Chair, Deputy Chief Executive Officer of Groupe Bonduelle and Chief Executive Officer of Bonduelle Americas
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Monday, February 1, 2021, the committee resumed its study of the Labour Market Impact Assessment under the Temporary Foreign Worker Program.

Elizabeth Connery, Kathleen Sullivan, Daniel Vielfaure, Jagdeep Singh Batth and Shaitan Singh Rajpurohit made statements and answered questions.

At 4:31 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:39 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Wendy Therrien, Paul Davidson, Syed Hussan, Maria Esel Panlaqui and Jennifer Rajasekar made statements and answered questions.

At 5:33 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Leif-Erik Aune
Clerk of the Committee