Skip to main content Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 39
Tuesday, June 15, 2021, 3:31 p.m. to 5:28 p.m.
Pat Finnigan, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Marie-France Lafleur, Procedural Clerk
• Jacques Maziade, Legislative Clerk
• Émilie Thivierge, Legislative Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Corentin Bialais, Analyst
• Daniel Farrelly, Analyst
As an individual
• Dr. Jane Pritchard, Interim Registrar, College of Veterinarians of British Columbia
Canadian Food Inspection Agency
• Dr. Jaspinder Komal, Vice-President, Science Branch, Chief Veterinary Officer and World Organisation for Animal Health Delegate for Canada
Dairy Farmers of Canada
• Pierre Lampron, President
• David Wiens, Vice-President
• Érik Tremblay, Special Advisor, Government Relations and International Trade
Les Éleveurs de volailles du Québec
• Pierre-Luc Leblanc, President
Pursuant to the order of reference of Wednesday, March 10, 2021, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-205, An Act to amend the Health of Animals Act.


Kody Blois moved, — That, notwithstanding the motions adopted by the committee on Tuesday, May 11, 2021, regarding Bill C-205, An Act to amend the Health of Animals Act, the witnesses that were scheduled to appear on Thursday, June 10, 2021 be rescheduled to Tuesday, June 15, 2021; that clause-by-clause consideration of this bill commence on Thursday, June 17, 2021; and that amendments be submitted to the clerk of the committee no later than 12:00 p.m. (EDT) on Wednesday, June 16, 2021.

After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was agreed to, by a show of hands: YEAS: 11; NAYS: 0.

At 3:40 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:41 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Jane Pritchard made a statement and answered questions.

At 4:28 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:32 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Pierre Lampron, David Wiens and Pierre-Luc Leblanc made statements and, with Érik Tremblay, answered questions.

At 5:28 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Alexie Labelle
Clerk of the Committee