Skip to main content
Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 10
Friday, July 24, 2020, 11:00 a.m. to 1:22 p.m.
Hon. John McKay (Liberal)

• Luc Berthold for Pierre Paul-Hus (Conservative)
• Greg Fergus for Angelo Iacono (Liberal)
• Hon. Tim Uppal for Marc Dalton (Conservative)
• Gary Vidal for Doug Shipley (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Robin Whitehead, Analyst
House of Commons
• Jolène Savoie-Day, Procedural Clerk
• Evelyn Lukyniuk, Procedural Clerk
Civilian Review and Complaints Commission for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police
• Michelaine Lahaie, Chairperson
Edmonton Police Service
• Dale McFee, Chief of Police
Ottawa Police Service
• Peter Sloly, Chief of Police
Canadian Police Association
• Tom Stamatakis, President
As an individual
• Christian Leuprecht, Professor, Department of Political Science, Royal Military College of Canada
• Rick Parent
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Tuesday, June 23, 2020, the committee resumed its study of systemic racism in policing services in Canada.

Christian Leuprecht and Michelaine Lahaie made statements and answered questions.

At 12:08 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:16 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Peter Sloly, Tom Stamatakis and Dale McFee made statements and answered questions.

At 1:22 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Jean-Marie David
Clerk of the Committee