Skip to main content Start of content

INDU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 9
Thursday, April 23, 2020, 11:21 a.m. to 1:16 p.m.
Sherry Romanado, Chair (Liberal)

• Paul Manly (Green Party)
• Simon-Pierre Savard-Tremblay (Bloc Québécois)
Library of Parliament
• Sarah Lemelin-Bellerose, Analyst
• Francis Lord, Analyst
• Hon. Mary Ng, P.C., M.P., Minister of Small Business, Export Promotion and International Trade
Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development
• John Hannaford, Deputy Minister, International Trade
• Ailish Campbell, Chief Trade Commissioner and Assistant Deputy Minister
• Emmanuel Kamarianakis, Director General, Investment and Innovation
• Kendal Hembroff, Director General, Trade Negotiations
Department of Industry
• Simon Kennedy, Deputy Minister
• Paul Thompson, Associate Deputy Minister
• Frances McRae, Assistant Deputy Minister, Small Business and Marketplace Services
Pursuant to the order of reference of Saturday, April 11, 2020, the committee commenced its study of the Canadian response to the COVID-19 pandemic.


Michelle Rempel Garner moved, — That the Minister of Innovation appear before the Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology at any time that accommodates his schedule before April 30th for a meeting of 2 hours on the subject of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Earl Dreeshen, Ali Ehsassi, Nathaniel Erskine-Smith, Tracy Gray, Gord Johns, Majid Jowhari, Emmanuella Lambropoulos, Sébastien Lemire, Jeremy Patzer, Michelle Rempel Garner — 10;

NAYS: Lloyd Longfield — 1.

The Minister made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.

At 1:16 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee