Skip to main content Start of content

INDU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 7
Tuesday, March 10, 2020, 11:01 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Sherry Romanado, Chair (Liberal)

• Paul Manly (Green Party)
• Simon-Pierre Savard-Tremblay (Bloc Québécois)
Library of Parliament
• Sarah Lemelin-Bellerose, Analyst
• Francis Lord, Analyst
TELUS Communications Inc.
• Jérôme Birot, Vice-President, Voice and Services Development Operations
• John MacKenzie, Director, Regulatory Affairs
Bell Canada
• Jonathan Daniels, Vice-President, Regulatory Law
Rogers Communications Inc.
• Deborah Evans, Chief Privacy Officer
• Howard Slawner, Vice-President, Regulatory Telecommunications
Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission
• Alain Garneau, Director, Telecommunications Enforcement, Compliance and Enforcement Sector
• Steven Harroun, Chief Compliance and Enforcement Officer
• Ian Scott, Chairperson and Chief Executive Officer
Royal Canadian Mounted Police
• Guy Paul Larocque, Acting Inspector, Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre
• Eric Slinn, Assistant Commissioner, Federal Policing Criminal Operations
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on February 20, 2020, the committee commenced its study of fraud calls in Canada.

Ian Scott and Eric Slinn made statements and, with Guy Paul Larocque, Steven Harroun and Alain Garneau, answered questions.

At 11:58 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:05 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Jonathan Daniels, Howard Slawner and Jérôme Birot made statements and, with Deborah Evans and John MacKenzie, answered questions.

At 1:00 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee