Skip to main content Start of content

INDU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 3
Monday, February 24, 2020, 8:06 a.m. to 12:02 p.m.
Sherry Romanado, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Sarah Lemelin-Bellerose, Analyst
• Alexandra Savoie, Analyst
• Pascal Tremblay, Analyst
As an individual
• Lawrence L. Herman, Counsel, Herman and Associates
• Michael Geist, Canada Research Chair in Internet and E-Commerce Law, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa
Canadian Association of Mold Makers
• Jonathon Azzopardi, Director of international affairs
Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters
• Matthew Poirier, Director of Policy
Unifor Local 444
• David Cassidy, President
Canadian Vehicle Manufacturers' Association
• Mark Nantais, President
Casablanca Media Publishing
• Jennifer Mitchell, President, Red Brick Songs
Groupe Performance Stratégique
• Roger Boivin, President
Honey Bee Manufacturing Ltd.
• Scott D. Smith, Manager
Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development
• Steve Verheul, Chief Negotiator and Assistant Deputy Minister, Trade Policy and Negotiations
• Robert Brookfield, Director General, Trade Law (Deputy Legal Adviser)
• Shendra Melia, Executive Director, Investment Trade Policy
• Loris Mirella, Director, Intellectual Property Trade Policy
• Nicola Waterfield, Deputy Director, Trade Negotiations, North America Division
• Nolan Wiebe, Senior Trade Policy Officer, Information Technologies
Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food
• Aaron Fowler
Fromagerie Boivin
• Luc Boivin, Owner
Les Producteurs de lait du Québec
• Bruno Letendre, Chair
• François Dumontier, Director, Communications, Public Affairs and Trade Union Life
• Casey Chisick
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the committee commenced consideration of the Subject Matter of clauses 22 to 38 and 108 to 122 of Bill C-4, An Act to implement the Agreement between Canada, the United States of America and the United Mexican States.

Lawrence L. Herman, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, Matthew Poirier, David Cassidy and Jonathon Azzopardi made statements and answered questions.

At 9:00 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:04 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Roger Boivin, Scott D. Smith, Mark Nantais and Jennifer Mitchell, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario made statements and answered questions.

At 10:00 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:07 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Steve Verheul, Robert Brookfield, Loris Mirella, Shendra Melia, and Nicola Waterfield made statements and answered questions.

At 11:00 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:07 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Michael Geist, Bruno Letendre and François Dumontier, by videoconference from Longueuil, Quebec and Luc Boivin, by videoconference from La Baie, Quebec, made statements and answered questions.

At 12:02 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee