Skip to main content Start of content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 18
Friday, June 19, 2020, 11:00 a.m. to 1:02 p.m.
Bob Bratina, Chair (Liberal)

• Niki Ashton (NDP)
• Leah Gazan (NDP)
• Kristina Michaud (Bloc Québécois)
House of Commons
• Jessica Kulka, Procedural Clerk
• Michel Marcotte, Procedural Clerk
• Jean-François Pagé, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Olivier Leblanc-Laurendeau, Analyst
• Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst
• Hon. Anita Anand, Minister of Public Services and Procurement
• Hon. Carolyn Bennett, Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations
• Hon. Marc Miller, Minister of Indigenous Services
Department of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs
• Daniel Quan-Watson, Deputy Minister
• François Weldon, Director General
Department of Indigenous Services
• Valerie Gideon, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, First Nations and Inuit Health Branch
• Sony Perron, Associate Deputy Minister
• Philippe Thompson, Chief Finances, Results and Delivery Officer
• Dr. Tom Wong, Chief Medical Officer and Director General, Office of Population and Public Health
Department of Public Works and Government Services
• Arianne Reza, Assistant Deputy Minister, Procurement
• Michael Vandergrift, Associate Deputy Minister
Pursuant to the orders of reference of Monday, April 20 and Tuesday, May 26, 2020, the committee resumed its study of the government’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Minister Carolyn Bennett made a statement and answered questions.

At 12:02 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:14 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Ministers Anita Anand and Marc Miller answered questions.

The question: "That a proposed budget in the amount of $ 4,000.00 for the study of the government’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic, be adopted." was put and was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Gary Anandasangaree, Jaime Battiste, Sylvie Bérubé, Marcus Powlowski, Mumilaaq Qaqqaq, Jamie Schmale, Gary Vidal, Arnold Viersen, Lenore Zann, Bob Zimmer — 10;

NAYS: — 0.

At 1:02 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Evelyn Lukyniuk
Clerk of the Committee