Skip to main content Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 26
Wednesday, June 10, 2020, 2:59 p.m. to 6:11 p.m.
Ron McKinnon, Chair (Liberal)

• Luc Desilets (Bloc Québécois)
• Helena Jaczek (Liberal)
House of Commons
• Leif-Erik Aune, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Karin Phillips, Analyst
• Dominique Montpetit, Analyst
As an individual
• Dr. Joanne Liu, Physician and Former International President of Doctors Without Borders
Canadian Association of Radiologists
• Dr. Michael Barry, President
• Dr. Gilles Soulez, Vice-President
Southlake Regional Health Centre
• Arden Krystal, President and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Dental Association
• Dr. Jim Armstrong, President
• Dr. Aaron Burry, Associate Director, Professional Affairs
Doctors Without Borders
• Dr. Jason Nickerson, Humanitarian Affairs Advisor
The Ottawa Hospital
• Dr. Dave Neilipovitz, Head of the Department of Critical Care
Pursuant to the order of reference of Monday, January 27, 2020, and the motion adopted by the committee on Wednesday, January 29, 2020, the committee resumed a briefing on the Canadian response to the outbreak of the coronavirus.

Joanne Liu, Michael Barry, Gilles Soulez and Arden Krystal made statements and answered questions.

At 4:33 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:39 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Jim Armstrong, Aaron Burry, Jason Nickerson and Dave Neilipovitz made a statement and answered questions.

At 6:11 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Erica Pereira
Committee Clerk