Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 30
Thursday, May 21, 2020, 3:04 p.m. to 7:11 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

• Gord Johns (NDP)
• John Nater (Conservative)
• Francesco Sorbara (Liberal)
• Alexis Brunelle-Duceppe (Bloc Québécois)
• Elizabeth May (Green Party)
House of Commons
• Christine Lafrance, Procedural Clerk
• Alexandre Roger, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Sylvain Fleury, Analyst
• Michaël Lambert-Racine, Analyst
• Hon. Mary Ng, Minister of Small Business, Export Promotion and International Trade
Department of Finance
• Soren Halverson, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Sector Policy Branch
• Miodrag Jovanovic, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Tax Policy Branch
Department of Industry
• Simon Kennedy, Deputy Minister
• Paul Thompson, Associate Deputy Minister
• Frances McRae, Assistant Deputy Minister, Small Business and Marketplace Services
Canadian Juries Commission
• Mark Farrant, Founder and Chief Executive Officer
Fish, Food and Allied Workers
• Keith Sullivan, President
• Paul-Émile Cloutier, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Bradly Wouters, Representative and Executive Vice-President for Science and Research at the University Health Network
• Amanjit Lidder, Senior Vice-President, Taxation Services
• Kim Drever, Regional Tax Leader, Edmonton
Stratford Festival
• Carol Stephenson, Chair of the Board of Governors
• Anita Gaffney, Executive Director
The Globe and Mail
• Phillip Crawley, Publisher and Chief Executive Officer, Toronto
• Jerry Dias, National President
As an individual
• Jennifer Robson, Associate Professor, Carleton University
Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions
• Jeremy Rudin, Superintendent of Financial Institutions
• Ben Gully, Assistant Superintendent, Regulation Sector
Pursuant to the orders of reference of Tuesday, March 24, and Saturday, April 11, 2020, the committee resumed its study of the Government’s Response to the COVID-19 Pandemic.

The minister made a statement and, with Simon Kennedy, answered questions.

At 4:04 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:16 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Mark Farrant, Keith Sullivan, Paul-Émile Cloutier, Amanjit Lidder, Kim Drever, Carol Stephenson, Philip Crawley, Jerry Dias and Jennifer Robson made statements and, with Bradly Wouters and Anita Gaffney, answered questions.

At 6:05 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:08 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Jeremy Rudin and Ben Gully made statements and answered questions.

At 7:11 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

David Gagnon
Clerk of the Committee