Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 26
Thursday, May 7, 2020, 3:05 p.m. to 7:06 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

• Mel Arnold for Hon. Pierre Poilievre (Conservative)
• Richard Bragdon for Marty Morantz (Conservative)
• Gord Johns for Peter Julian (NDP)
• Kevin Waugh for Michael Cooper (Conservative)
• Alexis Brunelle-Duceppe (Bloc Québécois)
• Paul Manly (Green Party)
• Elizabeth May (Green Party)
House of Commons
• Christine Lafrance, Procedural Clerk
• Alexandre Roger, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Andrew Barton, Analyst
• Sylvain Fleury, Analyst
BC Seafood Alliance
• Christina Burridge, Executive Director
Canadian Independent Fish Harvesters Federation
• Melanie Sonnenberg, President
• Jim McIsaac, Vice-President, Pacific
Gulf Nova Scotia Fishermen's Coalition
• Leonard LeBlanc, President
Group MDMP
• Maxime Smith, Commercial Director
Lobster Council of Canada
• Geoff Irvine, Executive Director
Maritime Fishermen's Union
• Martin Mallet, Executive Director
Prince Edward Island Fishermen's Association
• Mitchell Jollimore, Vice-President
• Ian MacPherson, Executive Director
Association of Canadian Publishers
• Kate Edwards, Executive Director
Canadian Football League
• Randy Ambrosie, Commissioner
Corus Entertainment Inc.
• Troy Reeb, Executive Vice-President, Broadcast Networks
Festivals and Major Events Canada
• Martin Roy, Executive Director
Fort Edmonton Management Company
• Darren Dalgleish, President and Chief Executive Officer
One Voice for Arts and Culture
• Brad Keast, Acting Chair
Pillar Nonprofit Network
• Michelle Baldwin, Executive Director
Royal Conservatory of Music
• Peter Simon, President and Chief Executive Officer
Pursuant to the orders of reference of Tuesday, March 24, and Saturday, April 11, 2020, the committee resumed its study of the Government’s Response to the COVID-19 Pandemic.

Christina Burridge, Melanie Sonnenberg, Leonard LeBlanc, Maxime Smith, Geoff Irvine, Martin Mallet, Ian MacPherson and Mitchell Jollimore on the panel on fishing sector made statements and, with Jim McIsaac, answered questions.

At 4:57 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:04 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Kate Edwards, Randy Ambrosie, Troy Reeb, Martin Roy, Darren Dalgleish, Brad Keast, Michelle Balwin and Peter Simon on the panel on arts, culture, sports and charitable organizations made statements and answered questions.

At 7:06 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

David Gagnon
Clerk of the Committee