Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 22
Friday, April 24, 2020, 2:04 p.m. to 6:09 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

• Alexis Brunelle-Duceppe (Bloc Québécois)
• Elizabeth May (Green Party)
Library of Parliament
• Andrew Barton, Analyst
• Sylvain Fleury, Analyst
House of Commons
• Christine Lafrance, Procedural Clerk
• Alexandre Roger, Procedural Clerk
City of Burnaby
• Mike Hurley, Mayor
City of New Westminster
• Jonathan Coté, Mayor and Chair of the Translink Mayors’ Council
City of St. Albert
• Cathy Heron, Mayor
Federation of Canadian Municipalities
• Bill Karsten, President
Government of the Northwest Territories
• Caroline Wawzonek, Minister, Department of Finance
Municipalité régionale de comté de Témiscamingue
• Claire Bolduc, Reeve
Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities
• Raymond Orb, President
St. John's Board of Trade
• Brandon Ellis, Policy and Advocacy Specialist
Canadian Alliance of Student Associations
• Adam Brown, Chair
• Philippe LeBel, President of Union étudiante du Québec
Carleton University
• Ian Lee, Associate Professor
Community Food Centres Canada
• Nick Saul, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Sasha McNicoll, Senior Specialist, Policy
Conseil national des chômeurs et chômeuses
• Pierre Céré, Spokesperson
Corona School of Gymnastics
• Agnes Laing, Owner
Universities Canada
• Paul Davidson, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Wendy Therrien, Director, External Relations and Research
University of British Columbia
• Kevin Milligan, Professor
Pursuant to the orders of reference of Tuesday, March 24, and Saturday, April 11, 2020, the committee resumed its study of the Government’s Response to the COVID-19 Pandemic.

Cathy Heron, Mike Hurley, Jonathan Coté, Bill Karsten, Caroline Wawzonek, Claire Bolduc, Raymond Orb and Brandon Ellis on a panel on Municipalities, Provinces and Territories made statements and answered questions.

At 4:00 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:11 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Adam Brown, Ian Lee, Nick Saul, Pierre Céré, Agnes Laing, Paul Davidson, Kevin Milligan and Philippe LeBel on a panel on Students, Workers and Unemployed made statements and, with Wendy Therrien and Sasha McNicoll, answered questions.

At 6:09 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

David Gagnon
Clerk of the Committee