Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 20
Friday, April 17, 2020, 2:08 p.m. to 6:14 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

• Bernard Généreux for Michael Cooper (Conservative)
• Dane Lloyd for James Cumming (Conservative)
• Francesco Sorbara for Sean Fraser (Liberal)
• Karen Vecchio for James Cumming (Conservative)
• Marie-Hélène Gaudreau (Bloc Québécois)
• Dane Lloyd (Conservative)
House of Commons
• Caroline Bosc, Procedural Clerk
• Alexandre Roger, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Andrew Barton, Analyst
• Sylvain Fleury, Analyst
Dans la rue
• Cécile Arbaud, Executive Director
Front d'action populaire en réaménagement urbain
• Véronique Laflamme, Spokesperson
Lookout Housing and Health Society
• Shayne Williams, Chief Executive Officer
Mortgage Professionals Canada
• Paul Taylor, President and Chief Executive Officer, Head Office
• Elaine Taylor, Chair of the Board of Directors, Head Office
Siloam Mission
• Jim Bell, Chief Executive Officer
United Way Centraide Canada
• Dan Clement, President and Chief Executive Officer
West Neighbourhood House
• Maureen Fair, Executive Director
Canadian Federation of Agriculture
• Mary Robinson, President
• Scott Ross, Assistant Executive Director
• Barry Friesen, General Manager
Forest Products Association of Canada
• Derek Nighbor, President and Chief Executive Officer
Northwest Territories Association of Communities
• Lynn Napier, President and Mayor of Fort Smith
Union des producteurs agricoles
• Martin Caron, First Vice-President
• Isabelle Bouffard, Director, Research and Agricultural Policy Directorate
Ville de Senneterre
• Jean-Maurice Matte, Mayor
Pursuant to the orders of reference of Tuesday, March 24, and Saturday, April 11, 2020, the committee resumed its study of the Government’s Response to the COVID-19 Pandemic.

Cécile Arbaud, Véronique Laflamme, Shayne Williams, Paul Taylor, Elaine Taylor, Jim Bell, Dan Clement and Maureen Bell on panel on Housing and Homelessness made statements and answered questions.

At 3:57 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:10 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Mary Robinson, Barry Friesen, Derek Nighbor, Lynn Napier, Martin Caron and Jean-Maurice Matte on a panel on Rural and Remote Communities made statements and, with Scott Ross, answered questions.

At 6:14 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

David Gagnon
Clerk of the Committee