Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 15
Thursday, April 2, 2020, 2:00 p.m. to 4:15 p.m.
Audio Only
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Caroline Bosc, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Andrew Barton, Analyst
• Brett Capwell, Analyst
• Sylvain Fleury, Analyst
• Michaël Lambert-Racine, Analyst
• Hon. Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance
Canada Revenue Agency
• Frank Vermaeten, Assistant Commissioner, Assessment, Benefit and Service Branch
• Geoff Trueman, Assistant Commissioner, Legislative Policy and Regulatory Affairs Branch
• Robert Greene, Director General, Assessment, Benefit and Service Branch, Individual Returns Directorate
• Randy Hewlett, Director General, Legislative Policy Directorate, Legislative Policy and Regulatory Affairs Branch
Department of Employment and Social Development
• Janet Goulding, Assistant Deputy Minister, Income Security and Social Development Branch
• Cliff C. Groen, Assistant Deputy Minister, Service Canada - Benefit Delivery Services Branch
• Elisha Ram, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Skills and Employment Branch
• Philippe Massé, Director General, Temporary Foreign Worker Directorate, Skills and Employment Branch
• Tammy Bélanger, Director General, Transformation, Planning Design and Oversight, Service Canada - Benefit Delivery Services Branch
Department of Finance
• Andrew Marsland, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Tax Policy Branch
• Michelle Kovacevic, Assistant Deputy Minister, Federal-Provincial Relations and Social Policy Branch
• Soren Halverson, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Sector Policy Branch
• Nicolas Moreau, Director General, Funds Management Division, Financial Sector Policy Branch
House of Commons
• Eric Janse, Clerk Assistant, Committees and Legislative Services Directorate
• Stéphan Aubé, Chief Information Officer, Digital Services and Real Property
Pursuant to the order of reference of Tuesday, March 24, 2020, the committee commenced its study of the Government’s Response to the COVID-19 Pandemic.

The Minister made a statement and answered questions.

Michelle Kovacecic, Andrew Marsland, Soren Halverson, Frank Vermaeten, Cliff C. Groen, Elisha Ram, Eric Janse and Stéphan Aubé answered questions.

At 4:15 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

David Gagnon
Clerk of the Committee