Skip to main content Start of content

CIIT Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 5
Tuesday, February 18, 2020, 3:32 p.m. to 8:07 p.m.
Hon. Judy A. Sgro, Chair (Liberal)

• Damien C. Kurek (Conservative)
• Stephanie Kusie (Conservative)
• Richard Martel (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Bashar Abu Taleb, Analyst
• Offah Obale, Analyst
Canadian Chamber of Commerce
• Mark Agnew, Director, International Policy
• Jackie King, Chief Operating Officer
Canadian Agri-Food Trade Alliance
• Claire Citeau, Executive Director
• Brian Innes, Vice-President
Canadian Steel Producers Association
• Catherine Cobden, President
Canadian Automobile Dealers Association
• Oumar Dicko, Chief Economist
• Huw Williams, Director, Public Affairs
Canadian Cattlemen's Association
• Fawn Jackson, Senior Manager, Environment and Sustainability
• Bob Lowe, Vice-President, Chair of Foreign Trade Committee
Canada's Building Trades Unions
• Robert Kucheran, Chairman, Executive Board
United Steelworkers
• Ken Neumann, National Director for Canada, National Office
• Mark Rowlinson, Executive Assistant to the National Director
Canadian Labour Congress
• Chris Roberts, National Director, Social and Economic Policy Department
• Hassan Yussuff, President
Canadian Trucking Alliance
• Lak Shoan, Director, Policy and Industry Awareness
Aluminium Association of Canada
• Jean Simard, President and Chief Executive Officer
Vermeer's Dairy Ltd
• Jake Vermeer
As an individual
• Michael Bose
• D'Arcy Hilgartner
Pursuant to the order of reference of Thursday, February 6, 2020, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-4, An Act to implement the Agreement between Canada, the United States of America and the United Mexican States.

Claire Citeau, Bob Lowe, Hassan Yussuff and Ken Neumann made statements and, with Mark Rowlinson and Fawn Jackson, answered questions.

At 4:52 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:02 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Jean Simard, Huw Williams, Jackie King and Catherine Cobden made statements and, with Mark Agnew and Oumar Dicko, answered questions.

At 6:33 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:42 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Michael Bose, D'Arcy Hilgartner, Robert Kucheran, Lak Shoan and Jake Vermeer made statements and answered questions.

On motion of Sukh Dhaliwal, it was agreed, — That the committee meeting schedule for next week be as follows:

Monday, February 24, from 3:30 to 8:30 p.m. (witnesses);

Tuesday, February 25, from 9 am to 2 pm and from 3:30 to 8:30 p.m. (witnesses);

Wednesday, February 26, from 3:30 to 8:30 p.m. (witnesses);

Thursday, February 27, from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. (witnesses and/or clause by clause);

Friday, February 28, clause by clause (if needed, time to be determined);

and that the committee entertain no motion during these meetings, unless all members are present.

At 8:07 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee