Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 96
Monday, March 26, 2018, 3:35 p.m. to 5:33 p.m.
Hon. Judy A. Sgro, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Geneviève Gosselin, Analyst
• Nicole Sweeney, Analyst
As an individual
• David Ticoll, Distinguished Senior Fellow, Innovation Policy Lab, Munk School of Global Affairs, University of Toronto
Canadian Automobile Association
• Ian Jack, Managing Director, Communications and Government Relations
Canadian Automated Vehicles Centre of Excellence
• Barrie Kirk, Executive Director
Canadian Vehicle Manufacturers' Association
• Mark Nantais, President
Electric Mobility Canada
• Catherine Kargas, Chair
Sun Country Highway Ltd.
• Kent Rathwell, Founder and Chief Executive Officer
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Monday, February 5, 2018, the Committee commenced its study of automated and connected vehicles in Canada.

David Ticoll, Ian Jack and Barrie Kirk made statements and answered questions.

At 4:29 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:32 p.m., the sitting resumed.

At 4:32 p.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.

Mark Nantais, Catherine Kargas and Kent Rathwell made statements and answered questions.

At 4:55 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:14 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Mark Nantais, Catherine Kargas and Kent Rathwell answered questions.

At 5:33 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marie-France Lafleur
Clerk of the Committee