Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 110
Wednesday, September 26, 2018, 9:00 a.m. to 6:02 p.m.
Hon. Judy A. Sgro, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Alexandre Gauthier, Analyst
• Geneviève Gosselin, Analyst
Abbotsford International Airport
• Parm Sidhu, General Manager
BC Marine Terminal Operators Association
• Marko Dekovic, Vice-Chair
• Brad Eshleman, Chair
BNSF Railway Company
• Roger Nober, Executive Vice-President, Law and Corporate Affairs
British Columbia Coast Pilots Ltd.
• Roy Haakonson, Captain, President
• Robin Stewart, Captain, Vice-President
Canada Border Services Agency
• Rosyln H. MacVicar, Regional Director General, Pacific Region
Canadian Ferry Association
• Serge Buy, Chief Executive Officer
Canadian National Railway Company
• Brad Bodner, Director, Business Development
Canadian Pacific Railway
• James Clements, Vice-President, Strategic Planning and Transportation Services
Chamber of Shipping
• Bonnie Gee, Vice-President
• Robert Lewis-Manning, President
Forest Products Association of Canada
• Joel Neuheimer, Vice-President, International Trade and Transportation
Global Container Terminals
• Marko Dekovic, Vice-President, Public Affairs
Greater Victoria Harbour Authority
• Sonterra Ross, Chief Operating Officer
Islands Trust
• Peter Luckham, Chair, Islands Trust Council
Neptune Bulk Terminals (Canada) Ltd.
• Rob Booker, Senior Vice-President, Operations and Maintenance
Port Alberni Port Authority
• Zoran Knezevic, President and Chief Executive Officer
Port of Nanaimo
• Ewan D. Moir, President and Chief Executive Officer
Pulse Canada
• Greg Northey, Director, Industry Relations
Southern Railway of British Columbia
• Derek Ollmann, President
Teck Resources Limited
• Michael O'Shaughnessy, Director, Logistics
• Geoff Cross, Vice-President, Transportation Planning and Policy, New Westminster
United Trucking Association
• Gagan Singh, Spokesperson
Vancouver Fraser Port Authority
• Peter Xotta, Vice-President, Planning and Operations
Vancouver International Airport Authority
• Gerry Bruno, Vice President, Federal Government Affairs
Victoria Airport Authority
• Geoff Dickson, President and Chief Executive Officer
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, September 27, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of the Canadian transportation and logistics strategy.

Sonterra Ross, Peter Xotta and Ewan D. Moir made statements and answered questions.

At 10:00 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:09 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Derek Ollmann made a statement and answered questions.

At 11:09 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:16 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Roger Nober, Marko Dekovic and Rob Booker made statements and answered questions.

At 12:05 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:12 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Serge Buy, Brad Eshleman, Zoran Knezevic and Gagan Singh made statements and, with Marko Dekovic, answered questions.

At 1:07 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 2:17 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Rosyln H. MacVicar, Roy Haakonson and Robert Lewis-Manning made statements and, with Robin Stewart, answered questions.

At 3:07 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:14 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Michael O'Shaughnessy, Greg Northey and Joel Neuheimer made statements and answered questions.

At 4:06 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:12 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Parm Sidhu, Gerry Bruno and Geoff Dickson made statements and answered questions.

At 5:06 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:37 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Peter Luckham made a statement and answered questions.

At 6:02 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marie-France Lafleur
Clerk of the Committee