Skip to main content Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 171
Monday, July 15, 2019, 12:59 p.m. to 5:20 p.m.
In Camera
Hon. John McKay, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Robert Mason, Intern
• Holly Porteous, Analyst
House of Commons
• Leif-Erik Aune, Procedural Clerk
Pursuant to Standing Order 106(4), the Committee commenced consideration of the request by four members of the Committee to undertake a study of the Desjardins Group data breach.

It was agreed, — That the Committee undertake a study of the Desjardins Group data breach; that the Committee hold a meeting on Monday, July 15, 2019 to hear from witnesses; that the following witnesses be invited to appear: Communications Security Establishment, Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Canada Revenue Agency, Department of Finance, Department of Employment and Social Development, Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions and Desjardins Group; and that any future meetings for the study be held at the call of the Chair.

At 1:16 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:28 p.m., the sitting resumed in a public and televised session.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police
• Mark Flynn, Director General, Financial Crime and Cybercrime, Federal Policing Criminal Operations
Communications Security Establishment
• André Boucher, Assistant Deputy Minister, Operations, Canadian Centre for Cyber Security
Department of Finance
• Annette Ryan, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Sector Policy Branch
• Robert Sample, Senior Director, Market Policy, Capital Markets Division
Department of Employment and Social Development
• Elise Boisjoly, Assistant Deputy Minister, Integrity Services Branch
• Anik Dupont, Director General, Identity Policy and Programs Directorate
Canada Revenue Agency
• Maxime Guénette, Assistant Commissioner and Chief Privacy Officer, Public Affairs Branch
• Gillian Pranke, Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Assessment, Benefit, and Service Branch
Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions
• Judy Cameron, Senior Director, Regulatory Affairs and Strategic Policy
• Mohamad AL-Bustami, Managing Director, Technology Risk Division
Desjardins Group
• Guy Cormier, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Denis Berthiaume, Senior Executive Vice-President and Chief Operating Officer
• Bernard Brun, Vice-President, Government Relations
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Monday, July 15, 2019, the Committee commenced its study of the Desjardins Group data breach.

Mark Flynn and André Boucher made statements and answered questions.

At 2:33 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 2:38 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Annette Ryan and Elise Boisjoly made statements.

At 2:48 p.m., Pierre Paul-Hus took the Chair.

Maxime Guénette made a statement.

Annette Ryan, Elise Boisjoly and Maxime Guénette answered questions.

At 3:06 p.m., Hon. John McKay took the Chair.

The witnesses, with Judy Cameron, answered questions.

At 3:41 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:43 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Guy Cormier made a statement and, with Denis Berthiaume and Bernard Brun, answered questions.

At 4:50 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:53 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 5:11 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:13 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

By unanimous consent, it was agreed, — That guests of Julie Dabrusin be permitted to attend the in camera portion of the meeting.

At 5:20 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Naaman Sugrue
Clerk of the Committee