Skip to main content Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 152
Monday, March 18, 2019, 3:43 p.m. to 5:57 p.m.
Hon. John McKay, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Holly Porteous, Analyst
• Dominique Valiquet, Analyst
Canadian Bankers Association
• Andrew Ross, Director, Payments and Cybersecurity
• Charles Docherty, Assistant General Counsel
Canadian Chamber of Commerce
• Trevin Stratton, Chief Economist
• Scott Smith, Senior Director, Intellectual Property and Innovation Policy
As an individual
• Andrew Clement, Professor emeritus, Faculty of Information, University of Toronto
• David Masson, Director, Enterprise Security
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, October 23, 2018, the Committee resumed its study of cybersecurity in the financial sector as a national economic security issue.

Charles Docherty, Trevin Stratton and Scott Smith made statements and, with Andrew Ross, answered questions.

At 4:11 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:20 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 4:47 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:50 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Andrew Clement, by videoconference from Salt Spring Island, Bristish Columbia, and David Masson made statements and answered questions.

At 5:57 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Naaman Sugrue
Clerk of the Committee