Skip to main content Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 131
Thursday, October 18, 2018, 3:29 p.m. to 5:29 p.m.
Video recorded session
Hon. John McKay, Chair (Liberal)

• Terry Duguid for Pam Damoff (Liberal)
• Kamal Khera for Sven Spengemann (Liberal)
• Shannon Stubbs for Glen Motz (Conservative)
• Geng Tan for Pam Damoff (Liberal)
• Arnold Viersen for Glen Motz (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Dominique Valiquet, Analyst
The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the Committee invite the Commissioner of the Correctional Service of Canada to appear to discuss the government's response to the Committee's report on indigenous people in the correctional system.

It was agreed, — That Members be invited to submit their suggested witness lists for the anticipated study of cybersecurity in the financial sector to the Clerk of the Committee as soon as possible.

Southeastern Alberta Sexual Assault Response Committee
• Christina Johnson, Executive Director
Alberta Provincial Rural Crime Watch Association
• Trevor Tychkowsky, President
As individuals
• Alicia Bedford
• Geraldine Dixon
• Edouard Maurice
• Jessica Maurice
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, May 30, 2018, the Committee resumed its study of rural crime in Canada (M-167).

Christina Johnson, by videoconference from Edmonton, Alberta, and Trevor Tychkowsky, by videoconference from Calgary, Alberta, made statements and answered questions.

At 4:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:34 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Alicia Bedford, by videoconference from Thompson, Manitoba, Geraldine Dixon, by videoconference from Thompson, Manitoba, Edouard Maurice, and Jessica Maurice made statements and answered questions.

At 5:29 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Naaman Sugrue
Clerk of the Committee