Skip to main content Start of content

RNNR Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 128
Tuesday, February 19, 2019, 3:32 p.m. to 5:30 p.m.
James Maloney, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Sophie Leduc, Analyst
• Mohamed Zakzouk, Analyst
Canadian Electricity Association
• Channa Perera, Vice President, Policy Development
• Ian Jacobsen, Director, Indigenous Relations, Ontario Power Generation
As an individual
• Dwight Newman, Professor of Law and Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Rights in Constitutional and International Law , University of Saskatchewan
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
• Rumina Velshi, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Liane Sauer, Director General, Strategic Planning Directorate
Oxfam Canada
• Ian Thomson, Policy Specialist, Extractive Industries
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, December 6, 2018, the Committee resumed its study of international best practices for engaging with indigenous communities regarding major energy projects.

Rumina Velshi and Ian Thomson made statements and, with Liane Sauer, answered questions.

At 4:29 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:34 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Dwight Newman, by videoconference from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Channa Perera and Ian Jacobsen made statements and answered questions.

At 5:30 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Jubilee Jackson
Clerk of the Committee