Skip to main content Start of content

RNNR Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 106
Tuesday, September 4, 2018, 12:06 p.m. to 1:17 p.m.
James Maloney, Chair (Liberal)

• Mona Fortier for Hon. Mary Ng (Liberal)
• Paul Lefebvre for Kim Rudd (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Mohamed Zakzouk, Analyst
Pursuant to Standing Order 106(4), the Committee commenced consideration of the request by four members of the Committee to undertake a study of the federal government's actions and strategy with respect to the purchase of the Trans Mountain pipeline and the approval, construction and purchase of the Trans Mountain expansion project.


Shannon Stubbs moved, — That, pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee study the federal government’s actions with regards to the Trans Mountain pipeline purchase and the Trans Mountain expansion project; that six meetings be allocated for this study; that the Minister of Finance and the Minister of Natural Resources appear before the committee, for an hour each, at the first meeting of the study; that the first meeting be held no later than September 6, 2018; that this study be concluded before November 2018, that the meetings be televised; and that the committee report its findings back to the House.

After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was negatived on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Richard Cannings, Ted Falk, Jamie Schmale, Shannon Stubbs — 4;

NAYS: Mona Fortier, T.J. Harvey, Marc Serré, Geng Tan, Nick Whalen — 5.

At 1:17 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee