Skip to main content Start of content

RNNR Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 1
Wednesday, February 17, 2016, 3:34 p.m. to 4:20 p.m.

Library of Parliament
• Mohamed Zakzouk, Analyst
House of Commons
• Danielle Widmer, Procedural Clerk
Pursuant to Standing Order 106(1), the committee met for the purpose of electing a Chair. Pursuant to Standing Order 106(2), the Clerk of the Committee presided over the election of a Chair.

On motion of Denis Lemieux, it was agreed, — That James Maloney be elected Chair of the Committee.

At 3:42 p.m., James Maloney took the Chair.

Pursuant to Standing Order 106(2), the Clerk of the Committee proceeded to the election of Vice-Chairs.

On motion of Shannon Stubbs, it was agreed, — That John Barlow be elected First Vice-Chair of the Committee.

On motion of Marc Serré, it was agreed, — That Richard Cannings be elected Second Vice-Chair of the Committee.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

On motion of T.J. Harvey, it was agreed, — That the Committee retain, as needed and at the discretion of the Chair, the services of one or more analysts from the Library of Parliament to assist it in its work.


T.J. Harvey moved, — That the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure be composed of five (5) members, including the Chair, the two (2) Vice-Chairs and two (2) Government Members and that the quorum of the Subcommittee shall consist of at least three (3) members, including one (1) member of the opposition.

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to, by a show of hands: YEAS: 6; NAYS: 3.

On motion of Marc Serré, it was agreed, — That the Chair be authorized to hold meetings and to receive and publish evidence when a quorum is not present, provided that at least three (3) members are present, including one (1) member of the opposition and one (1) member of the government.

On motion of John Barlow, it was agreed, — That witnesses be given ten (10) minutes to make their opening statement; and that during the questioning of witnesses the time allocated to each questioner be as follows: For the first round of questioning, seven (7) minutes to a representative of each party in the following order: Liberal, Conservative, NDP and Liberal; for the second round, five (5) minutes be allocated in the following order: Conservative, Liberal, Conservative, Liberal; followed by NDP, three (3) minutes.

On motion of Denis Lemieux, it was agreed, — That only the Clerk of the Committee be authorized to distribute documents to members of the Committee and only when the documents are available in both official languages; and that witnesses be advised accordingly.

On motion of Denis Lemieux, it was agreed, — That the Clerk of the Committee, in consultation with the Chair, be authorized to make the necessary arrangements to provide working meals for the Committee and the Subcommittees.

On motion of Marc Serré, it was agreed, — That, if requested, reasonable travel, accommodation and living expenses be reimbursed to witnessses not exceeding two (2) representatives per organization, in accordance with the Financial Management and Policy Guide for Committees; and that, in exceptional circumstances, payment for more representatives be made at the discretion of the Chair.

On motion of Candice Bergen, it was agreed, — That, unless otherwise ordered, each Committee member be permitted to have one (1) staff member in attendance at any in camera meeting; and that one (1) staff member from each party also be permitted to attend any in camera meeting.

On motion of Geng Tan, it was agreed, — That one (1) copy of the transcript of each in camera meeting be kept in the Committee Clerk’s office for consultation by members of the Committee.

On motion of Richard Cannings, it was agreed, — That forty-eight (48) hours’ notice be required for any substantive motion to be considered by the Committee, unless the susbstantive motion relates directly to business then under consideration; that the notice of motion be filed with the Clerk of the Committee and distributed to members in both official languages; and that completed motions received before the close of business, which is understood to be 4:00 p.m., be distributed the same day.

At 4:20 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michel Marcotte
Clerk of the Committee