Skip to main content
Start of content

PROC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 111
Tuesday, June 5, 2018, 3:37 p.m. to 7:02 p.m.
Hon. Larry Bagnell, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Marie-Hélène Sauvé, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Michaela Keenan-Pelletier, Analyst
Canadian Federation of Students
• Coty Zachariah, National Chairperson
• Justine De Jaegher, Executive Director
Communications Security Establishment
• Scott Jones, Deputy Chief, Information Technology Security
• Jason Besner, Director, Cyber Threat Evaluation Center, Information Technology Security
Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada
• Daniel Therrien, Privacy Commissioner of Canada
• Barbara Bucknell, Director, Policy, Parliamentary Affairs and Research
• Regan Morris, Legal Counsel
Canadian Forces
• Col Vihar Joshi, Deputy Judge Advocate General, Administrative Law
As an individual
• Ian Lee, Associate Professor, Carleton University
Conservative Party of Canada
• Arthur Hamilton, Lawyer
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, May 23, 2018, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-76, An Act to amend the Canada Elections Act and other Acts and to make certain consequential amendments.

Scott Jones and Coty Zachariah made statements and, with Jason Besner and Justine De Jaegher, answered questions.

At 4:28 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:32 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Daniel Therrien and Vihar Joshi made statements and, with Barbara Bucknell and Regan Morris, answered questions.

At 5:32 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:36 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Ian Lee and Arthur Hamilton made statements and answered questions.

At 6:36 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:38 p.m., the sitting resumed.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

On motion of Chris Bittle, it was agreed, — That the Committee do now adjourn.

At 7:02 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Andrew Lauzon
Clerk of the Committee