Skip to main content Start of content

OGGO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 55
Wednesday, November 2, 2016, 3:33 p.m. to 5:35 p.m.
Tom Lukiwski, Chair (Conservative)

Library of Parliament
• Audrey Ann Bélanger Baur, Analyst
• Raphaëlle Deraspe, Analyst
Canada Post Corporation
• Deepak Chopra, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Susan Margles, Vice-President, Government Relations and Policy Framework
• Wayne Cheeseman, Chief Financial Officer
Association of Postal Officials of Canada
• Guy Dubois, National President
• Michael Ling, First Vice-President
Canadian Postmasters and Assistants Association
• Brenda McAuley, National President
• Daniel Maheux, National Vice-President
Union of Postal Communications Employees
• François Paradis, National President
Public Service Alliance of Canada
• Howie West, Work Re-Organization Officer, National Programs Section
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(c) and the motions adopted by the Committee on Thursday, May 5, 2016, and Thursday, June 16, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of Canada Post.

It was agreed, — That the Canadian Union of Postal Workers be invited to appear before the Committee on Thursday, November 3, 2016, instead of Wednesday, November 2, 2016.

Deepak Chopra made a statement and, with Wayne Cheeseman and Susan Margles, answered questions.

At 4:28 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:33 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Brenda McAuley, François Paradis and Guy Dubois made statements and, with Howie West and Daniel Maheux, answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 5:30 p.m., pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.

At 5:35 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Caroline Massicotte
Clerk of the Committee