Skip to main content
Start of content

LANG Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 63
Tuesday, May 30, 2017, 11:01 a.m. to 1:01 p.m.
Hon. Denis Paradis, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Lucie Lecomte, Analyst
Department of Transport
• Daniel Blasioli, Senior Counsel, Legal Services
• Sara Wiebe, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(f) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, February 23, 2017, the Committee resumed its study of Air Canada’s implementation of the Official Languages Act.

Sara Wiebe made a statement and, with Daniel Blasioli, answered questions.

At 11:58 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:04 p.m., the sitting resumed.

As an individual
• Daniel Jutras, Professor
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(f) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, January 31, 2017, the Committee resumed its study of the full implementation of the Official Languages Act in the Canadian justice system.

Daniel Jutras made a statement and answered questions.


François Choquette moved, — That the Committee, before presenting its report to the House on the nomination of Madeleine Meilleur, invite the following people to appear in order to gain a better understanding of the appointment process for the position of Commissioner of Official Languages :

  1. The President of the Fédération des communautés francophones et acadiennes du Canada;
  2. Michel Doucet;
  3. The Boyden representative responsible for the selection process;
  4. The Deputy Minister of Canadian Heritage;
  5. Mathieu Bouchard;
  6. Gerry Butts;
  7. Rémi Leger;
  8. The Deputy Minister of Justice;
  9. The Chief Human Resources Officer of the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat;
  10. The Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet of the Privy Council Office.

At 12:50 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:51 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Linda Lapointe moved, — That the debate on the motion as moved by François Choquette be adjourned.

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: René Arseneault, Linda Lapointe, Paul Lefebvre, Darrell Samson, Dan Vandal — 5;

NAYS: Sylvie Boucher, François Choquette, Bernard Généreux, John Nater — 4.

Questioning of the witness resumed.

At 1:01 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Holke
Clerk of the Committee