Skip to main content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 87
Thursday, February 15, 2018, 3:17 p.m. to 4:44 p.m.
Anthony Housefather, Chair (Liberal)

• John Aldag for Iqra Khalid (Liberal)
• Sean Casey for Ali Ehsassi (Liberal)
• Tom Kmiec for Michael Cooper (Conservative)
• Kim Rudd for Randy Boissonnault (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Lyne Casavant, Analyst
• Chloé Forget, Analyst
Department of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness
• Trevor Bhupsingh, Director General, Law Enforcement and Border Strategies Directorate
• Michael Holmes, Director, Serious and Organized Crime Strategies Division, Law Enforcement and Border Strategies Directorate
Royal Canadian Mounted Police
• Joanne Crampton, Assistant Commissioner, Federal Policing Criminal Operations
Canada Border Services Agency
• Lynn Lawless, Director, Intelligence, Targeting and Criminal Investigations Program Management
Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions
• Carole Sheppard, Acting Director, Headquarters Counsel Group
Department of Justice
• Matthew Taylor, Acting Senior Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section, Policy Sector
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, June 8, 2017, the Committee commenced its study of human trafficking in Canada.

Matthew Taylor, Trevor Bhupsingh, Joanne Crampton, Lynn Lawless and Carole Sheppard made statements and, with Michael Holmes, answered questions.

At 4:44 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Julie Geoffrion
Clerk of the Committee