Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 52
Thursday, April 6, 2017, 4:05 p.m. to 5:20 p.m.
Anthony Housefather, Chair (Liberal)

• Peter Fragiskatos for Iqra Khalid (Liberal)
• Sean Fraser for Colin Fraser (Liberal)
• Joël Godin for Hon. Rob Nicholson (Conservative)
House of Commons
• Michael MacPherson, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Lyne Casavant, Analyst
• Julia Nicol, Analyst
Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police
• Christiane Huneault, Ottawa Police Service
• Rachel Huntsman, Q.C., Legal Counsel, Royal Newfoundland Constabulary and Member of the Law Amendments Committee
• Lara Malashenko, Legal Counsel, Ottawa Police Service
• David Truax, Detective Superintendent, Ontario Provincial Police and Member of the Law Amendments Committee
Canadian Centre for Abuse Awareness
• John Muise, Director of Public Safety
Canadian Association of Crown Counsel
• Rick Woodburn, President
As an individual
• Jonathan Denis
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, March 8, 2017, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill S-217, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (detention in custody).

Jonathan Denis, John Muise, Rachel Huntsman and David Truax made statements and, with Lara Malashenko, answered questions.

At 4:57 p.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit until five (5) minutes before votes.

At 5:20 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Stephanie Feldman
Committee Clerk