Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 43
Tuesday, February 7, 2017, 3:53 p.m. to 5:23 p.m.
Anthony Housefather, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Lyne Casavant, Analyst
• Julia Nicol, Analyst
The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That, notwithstanding the motion adopted by the committee on Tuesday, February 23, 2016, the access to the justice system study be divided into three separate studies to be named "Access to the Justice System", "Access to the Justice System (Delays in the Administration of Justice)" and "Access to the Justice System (Section 4.1(1) of the Department of Justice Act)".

It was agreed, — That a proposed supplementary budget in the amount of $13,000, for the study of the access to the justice system, be adopted.

At 4:10 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:25 p.m., the sitting resumed in public.

British Columbia Civil Liberties Association
• Joshua Paterson, Executive Director
As an individual
• Ryan Fritsch
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 23, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of the access to the justice system.

Ryan Fritsch and Joshua Paterson made statements and answered questions.

At 5:23 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee