Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 151
Tuesday, May 28, 2019, 8:45 a.m. to 11:26 a.m.
Anthony Housefather, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Lyne Casavant, Analyst
• Chloé Forget, Analyst
Alberta Muslim Public Affairs Council
• Mohammed Hussain, Vice-President, Outreach
• Faisal Khan Suri, President
As an individual
• Elizabeth Moore, Educator and Advisory Board Member, Canadian Anti-Hate Network and Parents for Peace
Federation of Black Canadians
• Dahabo Ahmed Omer, Board Member, Stakeholder Relations
Friends of Simon Wiesenthal Center for Holocaust Studies
• Avi Benlolo, President and Chief Executive Officer
Mosaic Institute
• Akaash Maharaj, Chief Executive Officer
Organization for the Prevention of Violence
• Bradley Galloway, Research and Intervention Specialist
South Asian Legal Clinic of Ontario
• Shalini Konanur, Executive Director and Lawyer
• Sukhpreet Sangha, Staff Lawyer
Windsor Islamic Association
• Sinan Yasarlar, Public Relations Director
Windsor Islamic Council
• Lina Chaker, Spokesperson
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, March 19, 2019, the Committee resumed its study of online hate.

Sinan Yasarlar and Lina Chaker, by videoconference from Windsor, Ontario, Elizabeth Moore, Faisal Khan Suri, Mohammed Hussain and Avi Benlolo made statements and answered questions.


Tracey Ramsey moved, — That the Committee proceed to sit in camera.

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to, by a show of hands: YEAS: 6; NAYS: 0.

At 9:33 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:34 a.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

At 9:48 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:49 a.m., the sitting resumed in plublic.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 10:06 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:12 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Dahabo Ahmed Omer, Akaash Maharaj, Bradley Galloway, Shalini Konanur and Sukhpreet Sangha made statements and answered questions.

At 11:06 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:12 a.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the Committee devote one hour of its regular meeting of Tuesday, June 4, 2019, to discuss the necessary recommendations for the draft report on the study of online hate.

At 11:26 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marc-Olivier Girard
Clerk of the Committee