Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 146
Thursday, May 2, 2019, 8:46 a.m. to 10:14 a.m.
Anthony Housefather, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Lyne Casavant, Analyst
B'nai Brith Canada
• Brian Herman, Director, Government Relations
• David Matas, Senior Legal Counsel
Ghanaian-Canadian Association of Ontario
• Emmanuel Duodu, President
Presbyterian Church in Canada
• Daniel Cho, Moderator
• Queenie Choo, Chief Executive Officer
World Sikh Organization of Canada
• Mukhbir Singh, President
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, March 19, 2019, the Committee resumed its study of online hate.

Brian Herman, David Matas and Daniel Cho made statements and answered questions.

At 9:38 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:41 a.m., the sitting resumed.

On motion of Dave MacKenzie, it was agreed, — That a proposed budget in the amount of $39,650, for the study of online hate, be adopted.

Emmanuel Duodu, by videoconference from Etobicoke, Ontario, Queenie Choo, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, and Mukhbir Singh made statements and answered questions.

At 10:05 a.m., pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit for an additional nine minutes.

At 10:14 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marc-Olivier Girard
Clerk of the Committee