Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 143
Thursday, April 11, 2019, 8:46 a.m. to 10:52 a.m.
Anthony Housefather, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Lyne Casavant, Analyst
• Chloé Forget, Analyst
Ahmadiyya Muslim Jama'at
• Imam Farhan Iqbal
Amnesty International Canada
• Alex Neve, Secretary General
Anglican Church of Canada
• Ryan Weston, Lead Animator, Public Witness for Social and Ecological Justice
Armenian National Committee of Canada
• Shahen Mirakian, President
Association for Reformed Political Action Canada
• André Schutten, Legal Counsel and Director of Law and Policy
Bahá'í Community of Canada
• Geoffrey Cameron, Director, Office of Public Affairs
Canadian Rabbinic Caucus
• Idan Scher
Centre for Israel and Jewish Affairs
• Shimon Koffler Fogel, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Richard Marceau, Vice-President, External Affairs and General Counsel
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, March 19, 2019, the Committee commenced its study of online hate.

Shimon Koffler Fogel, Ryan Weston, Idan Scher and Imam Farhan Iqbal made statements and answered questions.

At 9:43 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:50 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Shahen Mirakian, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, Alex Neve, André Schutten and Geoffrey Cameron made statements and answered questions.

At 10:52 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marc-Olivier Girard
Clerk of the Committee