Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 133
Monday, February 25, 2019, 3:30 p.m. to 5:53 p.m.
Anthony Housefather, Chair (Liberal)

• John Nater for Michael Barrett (Conservative)
• Hon. Lisa Raitt for Dave MacKenzie (Conservative)
House of Commons
• Philippe Dufresne, Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel
Library of Parliament
• Lyne Casavant, Analyst
• Chloé Forget, Analyst
As individuals
• Wendy Berman, Lawyer and Partner, Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP
• Mary G. Condon, Interim Dean, Osgoode Hall Law School
• Kenneth Jull, Lawyer and Academic, Gardiner Roberts LLP
• Maxime St-Hilaire, Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, Université de Sherbrooke
• Mary Ellen Turpel-Lafond, Senior Associate Counsel, Woodward and Company LLP, and Professor, Peter Allard School of Law, University of British Columbia
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, February 13, 2019, the Committee resumed its study of remediation agreements, the Shawcross Doctrine and the discussions between the Office of the Attorney General and government colleagues.

Mary G. Condon, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, and Maxime St-Hilaire, by videoconference from Brussels, Belgium, made statements and answered questions.

At 4:39 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:47 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Mary Ellen Turpel-Lafond, by videoconference from Victoria, British Columbia, Wendy Berman and Kenneth Jull made statements and answered questions.

At 5:53 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marc-Olivier Girard
Clerk of the Committee