Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 121
Monday, November 26, 2018, 3:30 p.m. to 6:37 p.m.
Anthony Housefather, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Chloé Forget, Analyst
• Nicole Sweeney, Analyst
Canadian Association for Equality
• Brian Ludmer, Advisory Counsel
Canadian Bar Association
• Melanie Del Rizzo, Chair, Family Law
• Sarah Rauch, Chair, Child and Youth Law
Family Dispute Resolution Institute of Ontario
• Dr. Barbara Landau, Mediator, Arbitrator, Psychologist and Lawyer
Lawyers for Shared Parenting
• Gene C. Colman, Lawyer
As individuals
• William Fabricius, Associate Professor of Psychology, Department of Psychology, Arizona State University
• Martha McCarthy, Martha McCarthy & Company LLP
• Daniel Melamed, Torkin Manes LLP
B'nai Brith Canada
• John Syrtash, Counsel
• Orly Katz, Assistant to Counsel
Elizabeth Fry Society of Greater Vancouver
• Shawn Bayes, Executive Director
Leading Women for Shared Parenting
• Paulette MacDonald, Member, Canadian Branch
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, October 4, 2018, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-78, An Act to amend the Divorce Act, the Family Orders and Agreements Enforcement Assistance Act and the Garnishment, Attachment and Pension Diversion Act and to make consequential amendments to another Act.

Gene C. Colman, by videoconference from Beersheba, Israel, Barbara Landau, Melanie Del Rizzo, Sarah Rauch and Brian Ludmer made statements and answered questions.

At 4:40 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:44 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Martha McCarthy, Daniel Melamed, Orly Katz and John Syrtash made statements and answered questions.

At 5:38 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:42 p.m., the sitting resumed.

William Fabricius, by videoconference from New York, New York, Paulette MacDonald, by videoconference from Lindsay, Ontario, and Shawn Bayes made statements and answered questions.

At 6:37 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marc-Olivier Girard
Clerk of the Committee