Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Notice of meeting Amended

Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights (JUST)
42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 108
Tuesday, September 25, 2018, 3:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.

3:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Legal Aid of Montreal | Laval
• Yves Gratton, Lawyer, Criminal Section
Pivot Legal Society
• Naomi Moses, Lawyer (by videoconference: Vancouver, British Columbia)
• Caitlin Shane, Lawyer (by videoconference: Vancouver, British Columbia)

4:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m.
As individuals
• Steve Coughlan, Professor, Schulich School of Law, Dalhousie University
• Tom Hooper, Contract Faculty, Law and Society Program, York University
• Gary Kinsman, Professor Emeritus of Sociology, Laurentian University
Canadian Centre for Gender and Sexual Diversity
• Calla Barnett, Board President
• Reyna Uriarte, Development Officer
Egale Canada Human Rights Trust
• Robert Leckey, Law Professor, McGill University, past President, Egale Canada (by videoconference: Montréal, Quebec)

5:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.
As individuals
• Joel Hechter, Barrister and Solicitor
Canadian Association of Crown Counsel
• Rick Woodburn, President
Toronto Police Accountability Coalition
• John Sewell (by videoconference: Kelowna, British Columbia)

6:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m.
As individuals
• Maureen Basnicki
• Christian Leuprecht, Professor, Department of Political Science, Royal Military College of Canada
Evangelical Fellowship of Canada
• Julia Beazley, Director, Public Policy

7:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.
Association des familles de personnes assassinées ou disparues
• Nancy Roy, Executive Director
• Bruno Serre, Executive Board Member
Manitoba Organization for Victim Assistance
• Karen Wiebe, Executive Director (by videoconference: Winnipeg, Manitoba)
Clerk of the Committee
Marc-Olivier Girard (613-996-1553)
2018-09-25 10:17 a.m.