Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Notice of meeting Amended

Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights (JUST)
42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 10
Monday, May 2, 2016, 4:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.

4:00 p.m. to 5:15 p.m.
• Hon. Jody Wilson-Raybould, P.C., M.P., Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada
• Hon. Jane Philpott, P.C., M.P., Minister of Health
Department of Justice
• William F. Pentney, Deputy Minister of Justice and Deputy Attorney General of Canada
Department of Health
• Simon Kennedy, Deputy Minister

5:15 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Department of Health
• Abby Hoffman, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy Branch
• Helen McElroy, Director General, Health Care Programs and Policy Directorate, Strategic Policy Branch
• Sharon Harper, Manager, Chronic and Continuing Care Division
Department of Justice
• Donald K. Piragoff, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy Sector
• Laurie Wright, Assistant Deputy Minister, Public Law Sector
• Jeanette Ettel, Senior Counsel, Human Rights Law Section
• Joanne Klineberg, Senior Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section

6:20 p.m. to 7:20 p.m.
Canadian Psychological Association
• Dr. Karen R. Cohen, Chief Executive Officer
College of Family Physicians of Canada
• Dr. Francine Lemire, Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Pharmacists Association
• Philip Emberley, Director, Professional Affairs

7:20 p.m. to 8:20 p.m.
As an individual
• Dr. Will Johnston, Chair, Euthanasia Prevention Coalition of British Columbia
Barreau du Québec
• Giuseppe Battista, President, Committee on Criminal Law
• Jean-Pierre Ménard, Member, Working Group on the End-of-Life Care
• Marc Sauvé, Director, Research and Legislation ServicesAmended
End of Life Planning Canada
• Nino Sekopet, Client Services Manager
• Francoise Hebert, Chair

8:20 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.
In Camera

Clerk of the Committee
Michael MacPherson (613-996-1553)
2016/05/02 9:20 a.m.