Skip to main content Start of content

INDU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 30
Wednesday, October 26, 2016, 3:30 p.m. to 5:26 p.m.
Dan Ruimy, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• André Léonard, Analyst
Department of Public Works and Government Services
• Sylvain Cyr, Director General, Land and Aerospace Equipment Procurement and Support Sector
• Desmond Gray, Director General, Office of Small and Medium Enterprises and Strategic Engagement
Department of National Defence
• Marc Fortin, Assistant Deputy Minister, Science and Technology
Department of Industry
• Paul Halucha, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy Sector
• Gerard Peets, Director General, Manufacturing and Life Sciences Branch, Industry Sector
• Jeff Waring, Senior Director, Industrial Technological Benefits Branch, Industry Sector
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on March 10, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of the manufacturing sector.

Alexander Nuttall gave notice of the following motion:

That pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee conduct a pre-budget study on the effects that the recently-announced Liberal Government carbon tax would have on the manufacturing sector; that this study be comprised of no less than four meetings to be held at the Committee's earliest convenience; that departmental officials from Innovation, Science, and Economic Development Canada be in attendance for at least one meeting; that the Committee report its findings and recommendations to the Minister of Innovation, Science, and Economic Development Canada no later than February 15, 2017.

Desmond Gray, Paul Halucha and Marc Fortin made statements and, with Sylvain Cyr, Jeff Waring and Gerard Peets, answered questions.

At 5:26 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee