Skip to main content Start of content

INDU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 141
Monday, December 3, 2018, 3:33 p.m. to 5:20 p.m.
Dan Ruimy, Chair (Liberal)

• Colin Carrie for Hon. Michael D. Chong (Conservative)
• T.J. Harvey for Terry Sheehan (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• David Groves, Analyst
• Sarah Lemelin-Bellerose, Analyst
• Francis Lord, Analyst
As individuals
• Georges Azzaria, Director, Art School, Université Laval
• Ariel Katz, Associate Professor and Innovation Chair, Electronic Commerce, University of Toronto
• Barry Sookman, Partner with McCarthy Tétrault and Adjunct Professor, Intellectual Property Law, Osgoode Hall Law School
Canadian Bar Association
• Sarah MacKenzie, Lawyer, Law Reform
• Steven Seiferling, Executive Officer, Intellectual Property Law Section
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, December 13, 2017, and section 92 of the Copyright Act, the Committee resumed the statutory review of the Act.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


Dan Albas moved, — That the Committee, pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), undertake a study of no less than 4 meetings to investigate the impacts of the announced closure of the General Motors plant in Oshawa, and its impacts on the wider economy and province of Ontario.

After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was negatived on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Dan Albas, Colin Carrie, Dane Lloyd, Brian Masse — 4;

NAYS: Celina Caesar-Chavannes, David de Burgh Graham, T.J. Harvey, Majid Jowhari, Lloyd Longfield — 5.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 5:10 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:12 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 5:20 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michel Marcotte
Clerk of the Committee