Skip to main content Start of content

INDU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 130
Wednesday, October 3, 2018, 4:23 p.m. to 5:30 p.m.
Dan Ruimy, Chair (Liberal)


Library of Parliament
• David Groves, Analyst
• Sarah Lemelin-Bellerose, Analyst
• Francis Lord, Analyst
• Laura Blackmore, Research Assistant
Information Technology Association of Canada
• Nevin French, Vice-President, Policy
Element AI
• Paul Gagnon, Legal Advisor
Entertainment Software Association of Canada
• Jayson Hilchie, President and Chief Executive Officer
BSA The Software Alliance
• Christian Troncoso, Director, Policy
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, December 13, 2017, and section 92 of the Copyright Act, the Committee resumed the statutory review of the Act.

Jayson Hilchie, Paul Gagnon, Christian Troncoso and Nevin French made statements and answered questions.


Dan Albas moved, — That to assist in the review of the Copyright Act, the Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology requests Ministers Freeland and Bains, alongside officials, to come before the Committee and explain the impacts of the United-States-Mexico-Canada Agreement (USMCA) on the intellectual property and copyright regimes in Canada.


Majid Jowhari moved, — That the debate be now adjourned.

The question: "That the debate be now adjourned" was put and was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Celina Caesar-Chavannes, David de Burgh Graham, Majid Jowhari, Raj Saini, Terry Sheehan — 5;

NAYS: Dan Albas, Michael D. Chong, Dane Lloyd, Brian Masse — 4.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 5:30 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Naaman Sugrue
Clerk of the Committee