Skip to main content
Start of content

INDU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 124
Tuesday, June 19, 2018, 4:11 p.m. to 5:50 p.m.
Dan Ruimy, Chair (Liberal)


Library of Parliament
• David Groves, Analyst
• Sarah Lemelin-Bellerose, Analyst
• Francis Lord, Analyst
Canadian Musical Reproduction Rights Agency Ltd.
• Caroline Rioux, President
Motion Picture Association-Canada
• Wendy Noss, President
Writers Guild of Canada
• Maureen Parker, Executive Director
• Neal McDougall, Director of Policy
Society for Reproduction Rights of Authors, Composers and Publishers in Canada
• Alain Lauzon, General Manager
• Martin Lavallée, Director, Licensing and Legal Affairs
Canadian Media Producers Association
• Stephen Stohn, President, SkyStone Media
• Erin Finlay, Chief Legal Officer
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, December 13, 2017, and section 92 of the Copyright Act, the Committee resumed the statutory review of the Act.

Matt Jeneroux gave notice of the following motion:

Given that the Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development has been explicitly tasked in his mandate letter from the Prime Minister to “work closely with the Minister of International Trade to help Canadian firms compete successfully in export markets,” and given that the International Monetary Fund (IMF) has raised concerns over Canada’s ability to compete with changes in the United States’ tax regime, that the Committee undertake a study of four meetings to review, among other things : i) the impact of any U.S.-imposed trade restrictions on the affected industries, ii) the impact of Canada’s tax regime on Canadian companies’ ability to compete with foreign-owned companies in Canada and abroad, and iii) the state of private sector investor confidence in Canada.

Caroline Rioux, Wendy Noss, Maureen Parker, Alain Lauzon, Martin Lavallée, Erin Finlay and Stephen Stohn made statements and answered questions.

At 5:50 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michel Marcotte
Clerk of the Committee