Skip to main content Start of content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 77
Monday, October 23, 2017, 8:03 a.m. to 12:46 p.m.
Hon. MaryAnn Mihychuk, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Isabelle Brideau, Analyst
• Brittany Collier, Analyst
Government of the Northwest Territories
• Hon. Robert R. McLeod, Premier
• Mike Aumond, Deputy Minister, Executive and Indigenous Affairs
Sahtu Secretariat Incorporated
• Hon. Ethel Blondin-Andrew, Chairperson
Inuvialuit Regional Corporation
• Duane Ningaqsiq Smith, Chair and Chief Executive Officer
• Kate Darling, General Counsel
North Slave Métis Alliance
• Bill Enge, President
• Christopher Devlin, Legal Counsel
Dene Nation
• Bill Erasmus, National Chief
Deh Gah Got'ie First Nations
• Sam Gargan, Sub-Chief and Mayor of Fort Providence
Gwich'in Tribal Council
• Bobbie Jo Greenland-Morgan, Grand Chief and President
Northwest Territory Métis Nation
• Jake Heron, Chief Negotiator
Behdzi Ahda" First Nation
• Wilbert Kochon, Chief
• Joseph Kochon, Chief Negotiator
Tlicho Government
• George Mackenzie, Grand Chief
• Bertha Rabesca Zoe, Legal Counsel
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 21, 2017, the Committee resumed its study on specific claims and comprehensive land claims agreements.

Sam Gargan and Bill Enge made statements and, with Christopher Devlin, answered questions.

At 9:04 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:15 a.m., the sitting resumed in a video recorded session.

Wilbert Kochon, Joseph Kochon, Jake Heron and Duane Ningaqsiq Smith made statements and, with Kate Darling, answered questions.

At 10:14 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:21 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Bill Erasmus, George Mackenzie, Bertha Rabesca Zoe and Ethel Blondin-Andrew made statements and answered questions.

At 11:35 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:47 a.m., the sitting resumed.

The Hon. Robert R. McLeod made a statement and, with Mike Aumond, answered questions.

At 12:46 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee