Skip to main content Start of content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 72
Friday, September 29, 2017, 7:59 a.m. to 11:31 a.m.
Hon. MaryAnn Mihychuk, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Isabelle Brideau, Analyst
• Brittany Collier, Analyst
Nishnawbe Aski Nation
• Leah Ballantyne, Chief of Staff
• Luke Hunter, Research Director, Land Rights and Treaty Research
Mohawk Council of Akwesasne
• Abram Benedict, Grand Chief, Mohawk Government
• Phillip White-Cree, Acting Manager, Aboriginal Rights and Research Office
Chiefs of Ontario
• Isadore Day, Ontario Regional Chief
Six Nations of the Grand River
• Ava Hill, Chief
• Philip Monture, Land Rights Consultant
Mississaugas of the New Credit First Nation
• Stacey Laforme, Chief
Missanabie Cree First Nation
• Ryan Lake, Legal Counsel
Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte
• R. Donald Maracle, Chief, Band No. 38
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 21, 2017, the Committee resumed its study on specific claims and comprehensive land claims agreements.

Isadore Day, Luke Hunter and Leah Ballantyne made statements and answered questions.

At 9:00 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:19 a.m., the sitting resumed.

R. Donald Maracle, Ryan Lake and Ava Hill made statements and, with Philip Monture, answered questions.

At 10:28 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:33 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Stacey Laforme, Abram Benedict and Philipp White-Cree made statements and answered questions.

At 10:56 a.m., Cathy McLeod took the Chair.

At 11:00 a.m., MaryAnn Mihychuk took the Chair.

At 11:31 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee