Skip to main content Start of content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 69
Monday, September 25, 2017, 9:01 a.m. to 2:33 p.m.
Hon. MaryAnn Mihychuk, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Isabelle Brideau, Analyst
• Brittany Collier, Analyst
Nlaka'pamux Nation Tribal Council
• Robert Pasco, Grand Chief and Tribal Chair
• Debbie Abbott, Executive Director
First Nations Summit
• Cheryl Casimer, Political Executive Member
• Melissa Louie, Legal and Policy Advisor
Havlik Metcs Ltd.
• Morgan Chapman, Research Associate
Nisga'a Lisims Government
• Eva Clayton, President
• Collier Azak, Chief Executive Officer
• Corinne McKay, Secretary-Treasurer
• Margaret Rosling, General Counsel
First Nations of the Maa-nulth Treaty Society
• Charlie Cootes, President
• Gary Yabsley, Legal Counsel, Ratcliff and Co
• Connie Waddell, Councillor
Westbank First Nation
• Christopher Derickson, Councillor
British Columbia Treaty Commission
• Celeste Haldane, Chief Commissioner
• Tom Happynook, Commissioner
Te'mexw Treaty Association
• Robert Janes, Legal Counsel
Sto:lo Xwexwilmexw Treaty Association
• Jean Teillet, Chief Negotiator
• David Schaepe, Technical Advisor, Treaty Negotiating Team
Union of British Columbia Indian Chiefs
• Judy Wilson, Secretary-Treasurer
• Jody Woods, Research Director
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 21, 2017, the Committee resumed its study on specific claims and comprehensive land claims agreements.

Celeste Haldane, Tom Happynook, Cheryl Casimer, Melissa Louie, Judy Wilson and Jody Woods made statements and answered questions.

At 10:01 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:18 a.m., the sitting resumed.

David Schaepe, Jean Teillet and Robert James made statements and answered questions.

At 11:18 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:31 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Robert Pasco, Debbie Abbott, Eva Clayton, Corinne McKay, Collier Azak, Margaret Rosling and Christopher Derickson made statements and answered questions.

At 12:33 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:32 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Morgan Chapman, Charlie Cootes and Gary Yabsley made statements and, with Connie Waddell, answered questions.

At 2:33 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee