Skip to main content Start of content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 62
Thursday, June 8, 2017, 8:46 a.m. to 11:47 a.m.
Hon. MaryAnn Mihychuk, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Isabelle Brideau, Analyst
• Norah Kielland, Analyst
• Hon. Carolyn Bennett, P.C., M.P., Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs
Assembly of First Nations of Quebec and Labrador
• Ghislain Picard, Chief
Mohawk Council of Kahnawake
• Joseph Tokwiro Norton, Grand Chief
Quebec Native Women Inc.
• Viviane Michel, President
• Cynthia Smith, Legal and Policy Analyst
As an individual
• Lynn Gehl
• Sharon McIvor
• Pamela D. Palmater, Chair in Indigenous Governance, Department of Politics & Public Administration, Ryerson University
• Deborah Serafinchon
• Catherine Twinn, Q.C. Lawyer
Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development
• Martin Reiher, Assistant Deputy Minister, Resolution and Individual Affairs
• Nathalie Nepton, Executive Director, Indian Registration and Integrated Program Management
• Candice St-Aubin, Executive Director, New Service Offerings, Resolution and Individual Affairs Sector
Department of Justice
• Karl Jacques, Senior Counsel, Operations and Programs
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, October 26, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of the subject matter of Bill S-3, An Act to amend the Indian Act (elimination of sex-based inequities in registration).

Joseph Tokwiro Norton, Ghislain Picard, by teleconference from Wendake, Quebec, Lynn Gehl and Viviane Michel made statements and, with Cynthia Smith, answered questions.

At 9:20 a.m., David Yurdiga took the Chair.

At 9:24 a.m., MaryAnn Mihychuk took the Chair.

At 9:46 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:50 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Sharon McIvor, Pamela D. Palmater, and Catherine Twinn made statements and, with Deborah Serafinchon, answered questions.

At 10:46 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:49 a.m., the sitting resumed.

The Minister made a statement and, with Nathalie Nepton, answered questions.

At 11:45 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Grant McLaughlin
Clerk of the Committee