Skip to main content Start of content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 61
Tuesday, June 6, 2017, 8:46 a.m. to 11:47 a.m.
Hon. MaryAnn Mihychuk, Chair (Liberal)

• Andy Fillmore for Don Rusnak (Liberal)
• Cheryl Gallant for Arnold Viersen (Conservative)
• Hon. Erin O'Toole for Cathy McLeod (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Isabelle Brideau, Analyst
• Norah Kielland, Analyst
Native Women's Association of Canada
• Lynne Groulx, Executive Director
• Francyne Joe, Interim President
• Courtney Skye, Director of Strategic Policy
Department of Justice
• Karl Jacques, Senior Counsel, Operations and Programs
Indigenous Bar Association in Canada
• Drew Lafond, Director, Board of Directors
Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development
• Nathalie Nepton, Executive Director, Indian Registration and Integrated Program Management
• Martin Reiher, Assistant Deputy Minister, Resolution and Individual Affairs
• Candice St-Aubin, Executive Director, New Service Offerings, Resolution and Individual Affairs Sector
Council of the Abenaki of Odanak
• Rick O'Bomsawin, Chief
• David Schulze, Legal Counsel
As an individual
• Stéphane Descheneaux
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, October 26, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of the subject matter of Bill S-3, An Act to amend the Indian Act (elimination of sex-based inequities in registration).

Martin Reiher made a statement and, with Karl Jacques, Nathalie Nepton and Candice St-Aubin, answered questions.

At 9:46 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:50 a.m., the sitting resumed.

David Schulze, Stéphane Descheneaux and Rick O'Bomsawin made statements and answered questions.

At 10:45 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:50 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Francyne Joe and Drew Lafond, by videoconference from Calgary, Alberta, made statements and, with Lynne Groulx and Courtney Skye, answered questions.

At 11:42 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:43 a.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 11:47 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Grant McLaughlin
Clerk of the Committee