Skip to main content Start of content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 36
Wednesday, November 23, 2016, 3:30 p.m. to 5:28 p.m.
Andy Fillmore, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Norah Kielland, Analyst
House of Commons
• Grant McLaughlin, Procedural Clerk
Assembly of First Nations
• Perry Bellegarde, National Chief
• Denise Stonefish, Deputy Grand Chief, Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians
• Stuart Wuttke, Legal Counsel
Congress of Aboriginal Peoples
• Robert Bertrand, National Chief
• Frankie Coté, Senior Manager, Engagement
Union of Ontario Indians
• Jeannette Corbiere Lavell, Citizenship Commissioner, Anishinabek Nation
Native Women's Association of Canada
• Lynne Groulx, Executive Director
• Francyne Joe, President
• Marilee Nowgesic, Special Advisor, Liaison
Quebec Native Women Inc.
• Viviane Michel, President
• Cynthia Smith, Legal and Policy Analyst Coordinator
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, October 26, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of the subject matter of Bill S-3, An Act to amend the Indian Act (elimination of sex-based inequities in registration).

Denise Stonefish, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, Perry Bellegarde, Francyne Joe and Viviane Michel made statements and, with Marilee Nowgesic and Cynthia Smith, answered questions.

At 4:29 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:33 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Robert Bertrand and Jeannette Corbiere Lavell made statements and, with Frankie Coté, answered questions.

At 5:28 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michelle Legault
Clerk of the Committee