Skip to main content Start of content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 32
Wednesday, November 2, 2016, 8:06 a.m. to 3:13 p.m.
Andy Fillmore, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Sara Fryer, Analyst
Cheslatta Carrier Nation
• Mavis Benson, Member
Provincial Health Services Authority
• Cassandra Blanchard, Program Assisstant, Indigenous Health
• Gabriella Emery, Project Manager, Indigenous Health
Deh Gah Got'ie First Nations
• Joachim Bonnetrouge, Chief
Métis Nation British Columbia
• Cassidy Caron, Minister, Métis Youth British Columbia, Provincial Youth Chair
• Tanya Davoren, Director of Health
Aboriginal Life in Vancouver Enhancement Society
• Scott Clark, Executive Director
British Columbia Association of Aboriginal Friendship Centres
• Eric Klapatiuk, President Provincial, Aboriginal Youth Council
First Nations Health Authority
• Shannon McDonald, Deputy Chief Medical Officer
• Patricia Vickers, Director, Mental Wellness
As an individual
• Sam George
• Cody Kenny
• Gertrude Pierre
• Yvonne Rigsby-Jones
• Ray Thunderchild
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on April 12, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of suicide among Indigenous peoples and communities.

Scott Clark and Mavis Benson made statements and answered questions.

At 9:18 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:29 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Gabriella Emery and Cassandra Blanchard made statements and answered questions.

At 10:22 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:30 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Eric Klapatiuk and Cassidy Caron made statements and, with Tanya Davoren, answered questions.

At 11:32 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:30 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Patricia Vickers and Shannon McDonald made statements and answered questions.

At 1:34 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:45 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Joachim Bonnetrouge made a statement and answered questions.

Sam George, Gertrude Pierre, Ray Thunderchild, Yvonne Rigsby-Jones, and Cody Kenny made statements.

At 3:13 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Grant McLaughlin
Committee Clerk