Skip to main content Start of content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 27
Wednesday, October 5, 2016, 3:49 p.m. to 5:33 p.m.
Andy Fillmore, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Sara Fryer, Analyst
• Norah Kielland, Analyst
House of Commons
• Grant McLaughlin, Procedural Clerk
Ilisaqsivik Society
• Jakob Gearheard, Executive Director
National Collaborating Centre for Aboriginal Health
• Margo Greenwood, Academic Leader
Qaujigiartiit Health Research Centre
• Gwen K. Healey, Executive and Scientific Director
As an individual
• Rod McCormick, Professor and Research Chair, Thompson Rivers University
• Michael DeGagné, President and Vice-Chancellor, Nipissing University
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on April 12, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of suicide among Indigenous peoples and communities.

Rod McCormick and Michael DeGagné made statements and answered questions.

At 4:38 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:42 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Gwen Healey, by teleconference from Iqaluit, Nunavut, Jakob Gearheard and Margo Greenwood made statements and answered questions.

At 5:33 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michelle Legault
Clerk of the Committee